After your customer has placed an order, they are not able to edit anything on the order itself. You as the merchant can edit the Billing and Shipping address of the order without closing it.
Open the order form within your control panel > Orders and click on the blue Edit link for either Shipping or Billing Address.
Save the changes and proceed with the order management, such as creating an invoice.
If you need to add or delete products, edit the quantities, or change the shipping or billing methods you need to click on the blue Edit button in the top left of the order page.
You are not able to edit an order without requesting from your customer the credit card or billing information!
This affects only orders placed with credit card payments, Amazon or PayPal payments and other billing methods where the money has already been captured or authorized.
Once you click the Edit button a pop-up confirmation appears to confirm you want to cancel the existing order. This will create a duplicate order of all open items that have not yet been invoiced. Click OK.
After confirming that you want to cancel the existing order that order is being automatically cancelled and you will see a new screen.
After confirming that you want to cancel the existing order, that order is being automatically cancelled and you will see a new screen.
The information carried over to the new order is the customer shipping and billing address, as well as the un-invoiced products and quantities. You will need to select the payment and shipping method again.
To enter the credit card information you will need to have your customer on the phone or in store for them to provide the information.
After submitting the new order you will see it in your orders list with a similar order number to the original one. If your original order number is 100000007, the new order number will appear as 100000007-1.
Please note: The original order will change its status to Complete.
Please note that canceling an order is irreversible.
Once an order is canceled, you won't be able to set it back to any other status.
You can only cancel orders that have not been processed and are not set to completed.
A completed order will need to be refunded by creating a Credit Memo.
Open the order from your Control Panel > Orders. In the Order Summary Page click on the Cancel button in the top left. A pop up message will prompt you to confirm the cancelation.
Your canceled orders will appear in your order list with status Canceled.
Updated 8 months ago